Be it resolved

January 4, 2012 § 4 Comments

Obligatory New Year’s resolution post! I always want to make them, and then formulate amorphous, half-hearted ones in my head (Eat…more? Run places! More friends, fewer enemies!) which I always fail to follow up on. The problem is that New Year’s eve is a terrible deadline to make life-changing decisions, at least for me. I’m too addled by sugar cookies and Scotch to envision my future clearly.

So! Beyond finishing my BA, graduating from college, and learning Old English (not in that order), I’ve decided that 2012 is Year of the Author. I am Making The Transition. I am Taking The Next Step. I am Being Intentionally Vague Because I Don’t Know Exactly What It Will Entail. If you know me, you know that I write, want to write, and love to write. And I don’t trifle with any of that “aspiring” nonsense. I’m a writer, period. But now that I’m about to finish school and enter the “Real World” (read: the one where no one cares if you can sing Ce Fu En Mai or wax philosophical on the Carolingian renaissance), I think it’s Put Up or Shut Up. And since shutting up has never been in my skillset, I’m going to do this thing. For real for real.

What does that mean, practically? Well, I am probably going to get myself a fancy domain name and possibly relocate this blog to there. I am going to present myself (professionally, casually, frequently) as a YA author. I am very probably going to go to the Romantic Times 2012 Convention, even though it’s 500 bucks, because it’s in Chicago and when will I get this chance to workshop and network again? I am going to take seriously my parents’ offer to take the summer (or longer) off, not worry about a career, and follow my heart.

Also, I am going to write like a motherfucker.

There is no other way! I am going to crank out words: some here, some elsewhere, some in private, and some that I’ll eventually share. I am going to plot, draft, and edit. I am going to sink in time and sanity and lots of keyboard abuse to do what I want to do, which is share stories with people.

For those of you that read this who know and love me: thanks. Your encouragement and support are wonderful, and it keeps me going. But I love most that you want to read what I have to say. And if you don’t know or love me, and you’re still here, that’s even cooler. Somehow, I have pulled you in, not because I’m your daughter/niece/high school buddy but because what I made entertains you. This is great, this is so great, and this is all I really want.

This blog’s a year old. A year! At the very least, that’s a lot of output. And I wrote a novel (again) in November! Words come together! I am a writer! 

In short, I can, evidently, see things through, and this has got to be one of them. It’s resolved. Happy New Year, y’all! Let’s rock!

§ 4 Responses to Be it resolved

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Be it resolved at Vitae Curriculum.

meta

