My life != The Bell Jar

June 14, 2011 § 1 Comment

Just because I have packed off to New York for the summer to work in publishing does not mean I will end up with my head in an oven. Unless I’m retrieving Snickerdoodles.

Now that we’ve cleared that up, let me also say that writing about New York is daunting because everyone else writes about New York and probably knows more about it and is better at writing than I am anyway, so you should probably go pick up a copy of Social Studies by Fran Lebowitz and leave me alone.

Okay, okay, fine. It’s crowded but people walk fast, which I like. There are restaurants everywhere and the grades in the window are for cleanliness, not for deliciousness. The subway’s not so bad. My apartment is wonderfully tiny, I am living out of a suitcase and don’t even have space to unroll my yoga mat. The East Village reminds me of Paris. Actually, a lot of New York reminds me of Paris. Is that weird to say? And it’s expensive here and I, as always, fear starvation, despite the proximity of a Trader Joe’s.

What else? Jesus, I haven’t been here a full 48 hours yet! I could talk about other stuff in my life but it would end up just being The Story of How I Made and Consumed An Entire Fruit Tart for an Article That Will Not Be Published Because I Suck or [redacted]*.

Now to steam out some wrinkles from my intern shirt and get started on the day!

*I had to sign an NDA not to blog about work. So…you don’t get to hear about that. Sorree!

§ One Response to My life != The Bell Jar

  • Cecilia says:

    Yeyy. Does != mean something to computer people? You should explain. I googled and google did not help me.

    AM SO EXCITED FOR YOUU.

    And yet I miss you. 😦

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My life != The Bell Jar at Vitae Curriculum.

meta

