Janky nonshelves for drill-less college students, or the MacGyver of ghettorigging

April 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

I have had a shelf on my floor since January, when I moved in. This isn’t exactly shocking, but today when I was buying ant traps (yeah, we have ants, judge away) I had the sudden impulse to ask my friendly hardwareperson if he knew a good way to put up bracket shelves without a power drill. He thought about it, looked like he was about to say no, and then reconsidered, as if I had somehow proved myself worthy of The Secret Method.

“I’ll show you what I did once,” he told me. “It should work.”

Basically, the method involves using a combination of screw, screwdriver, and hammer to get screwholes in your wall, then hammer in the blue-and-pointy plastic anchors, then screwing the shelf into place by hand. My roommate and I were nervous but full of gumption, and we winged it gamely. But the shelf adhered! And so far it is still up!

Being too nervous to put anything heavy on it, we elected to use it for tea storage. But then, we have a lot of tea. And we can’t keep it by the ant poison, now can we?


I’m proud, and will be until it crashes down in the middle of the night onto our coffeemaker.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Janky nonshelves for drill-less college students, or the MacGyver of ghettorigging at Vitae Curriculum.

meta

