Livelihood

January 19, 2011 § 2 Comments

Among things I am concerned about finding are a haircut that doesn’t look all spazzy and some kind of employment. Back in the day (and by the day I mean like, high school) I figured that these were the kind of things that happened eventually, or that just fell into place if you did your English homework and didn’t smoke pot outside the auditorium after school. But I did (and didn’t), and all of a sudden The Future Is Now and I can’t make my curls de-frizz and I have no idea what I’m going to do with the rest of my life. Or, more accurately, I have no idea who will pay me so that there can be a rest of my life.

If you want to be a writer, which I’m pretty sure I do, there is no good career path. No one has any good advice. The closest the unhelpful career services office at school can get is offering me internships in journalism and/or publishing, which, while not uninteresting, removes one of the main draws of writing by mandating that you wear pants to work. Not to mention the fact that my resume includes the phrase “maintained flock of laying hens.” Jesus. I may be doomed.

Fortunately, I have the wonderful kind of parents who actually just want me to be happy (I think) and they aren’t pressuring me to go to law school or pay them back for the 21 years of money-sucking that I have saddled them with thus far. My dad once said about my sister and me, and I quote, “I don’t care if they ever go to college, I just want them to blow their own damn noses.” Well Dad, guess what I can do?! And I can even use a neti pot now! That’s kind of like having a PhD in mucous extraction!

Plus, I’ve still got over a year left of college. That’s plenty of time to figure out how to use a hairdryer.

§ 2 Responses to Livelihood

  • Alice says:

    I’m not sure I can blow my own nose. But I’ve got 3 years of college left…let’s hope there’s a class next year called “Noses: 101”.

    ps. I think you should grow your hair out.

  • Cecilia says:

    DO NOT GROW YOUR HAIR OUT.

    Not to contradict the dearly beloved commenter #1.

    But seriously. It looks so good right now.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Livelihood at Vitae Curriculum.

meta

